Amelia eats Korea Part 1

Hello! I’ve been in korea for about 4 days and I have been eating so much! I have been wanting to try all sorts of korean food. But of course I am also trying to watch my portions. It is impossible to eat clean on holiday and I am not so crazy to say no to all those delicious korean food. Click ‘like’ to see more posts!

image
Had a simple korean ramen on the first day. Was still suffering frm gastric. I always have gastric when i go overseas because of the flight and new environment. So i went for the non spicy ramen. Tasted alright. Just a normal shop along the streets.

image
Tteobokki from Jaws food. Was spicy! I really liked it and also cos I was starving. We also have twigim which is like fried tempura and also odeng which is korean flattened fish cake. So yummy! They also serve this as street food. I will try it frm the aunties selling them along the street soon!

image
Mixed fruit bingsu! This was nice! Came with a side serving of red beans and mochi. I thought this was nice but until I tried another stall today. It was SO GOOD. Check it our below.

image
Naengmyeon! Cold buckwheat noodles! Interesting taste. I dont like cold food in general. But i dont mind trying it again. I believe this is a summer dish! Great for hot weather. The soup is sour vinegary tasting.

image

image
Soondubu jiggae. Tofu stew! U can get so many variations of this. But i loved this so much! And there are free flow eggs. So u can add as many eggs are u like! So awesome. It comes with rice in a stone pot and u scoop out the rice first and then add the hot tea to the left over rice and cover it up. After u are done with ur main meal, u go back to eat the tea with rice. Which i didnt like. Because it tastes bland. Lol.

image
Breakfast! Green tea with fruit and scrambled egg. I had to throw the scrambled egg away because there was too much salt. Gosh. I suddenly become fail at cooking here in korea. Lol. Luckily there is free flow egg at my accommodation. Teehee.

image
Fried cabbage too (: no garlic tho. But i just bought some frm the grocery store. Haha.

image
Manduuu! Dumplings! The fried ones was goooooddd. Yum yum yum.

image
This is the amazing patbingsu. The red bean we had frm the previous show was meh. Like out of a can. But this one, u can tell is home cooked. The texture is much better. It looks plain, but it goes so well with the milky ice. There is even more red bean innit. I loved this alot. We had to wait 10 mins in line and 20mins for the dessert. But so worth it. I heard there are even better ones I have yet to try!

image
Look at this huge plate of beansprouts and beef slices! There is another option with squid that is less spicy. This option was Spicy!!!! But so so shiok!

image
Then they add udon and cheese.

image
Meiqi and i!

imagekio

After eating it 3/4 of the way, they add rice and seaweed and flatten it out like so. The hot plate will cook the rice and make it stick to the plate. A little like claypot rice. But the rice is so tasty frm the juices frm the stir fry earlier on. So so so delicious.
image
I bought the famous strawberry shortcake frm Peony, a bakery in Hongdae. It tastes really good! Soft fluffy cake and good proportion of cream and tangy strawberries. Yum.

Hope u guys enjoyed this post! I have 6 more weeks here in korea so I’ll definitely be posting more eats (:

Leave a Reply

